The Final Comedown

2019 has been a big year for me in terms of running. Having completed my first marathon in 2017 then spending 2018 smashing PBs in all other distances I decided that 2019 I was going to go all out in terms of long runs.

In April, after a few months of solid, injury free training, I ran the Magna Carta marathon, along the River Thames, completing it in just over 4 hours which was a surprise to everyone, most of all me. I appreciate I’m no Kipchoge but this was a pretty speedy marathon time for me.

Then in June I ran the Weald 50k, my first ever ultra marathon. A race that I really enjoyed where I found that I was able to unleash a second wind once I got past marathon distance. Possibly a sign that an ultra runner persona lurks within me somewhere.

September was the New Forest Marathon. I have been looking at this race for a number of years as my Dad lives fairly close by and we had our family holiday here over the summer so I had been really looking forward to it. Unfortunately, I had been struggling with a bad back leading up to the race so it became a case of just getting it done. I managed a few short runs in the couple of weeks beforehand then had a positive remedial massage a few days before (thanks to Pat Coogan!) so just about made it round those 26.2 miles. It was a struggle, both mentally and physically, and I still have no idea how I made it over the finish line.

Following New Forest Marathon I was pleased to discover that my poor old back made very steady improvements. I returned to training with my run club and was progressing once again. I made the decision to book in another challenge and entered a trail marathon, Ranscombe Challenge, at the end of October. I did a 15 mile training run the week before and figured I could just about get a marathon done on the back of all the training I had done all year and I was absolutely right. 26.2 miles bagged and I was feeling super positive.

So you would think that running all these distances in one year would make me feel amazing, right? Wrong. Oh so wrong. After Ranscombe I came down with a horrible cold that prevented me from running entirely. I tried not to beat myself up about this as actually, the cold was well timed and my body now had time to recover from the marathon distance before I put it through anything else. I am someone who does not get ill very often so I am the worst patient and felt very sorry for myself.

A week post race and the cold was beginning to subside, I felt that it might be time to get some recovery miles in the bag. I then received the sad news that one of my run club friends, Wim, had passed away suddenly and this hit me very hard. I have struggled with training since. He was a special man who was always such a big presence and someone you would look forward to having a laugh with at run club and parkrun. The thought of him not being there on training nights was inconceivable.

In an attempt to restore some kind of motivation, I signed up to race Cross Country for the first time. I ran the first two races and felt absolutely nothing. This should be something that is right up my street. Racing as part of a team, wearing trail shoes, running in new places. But I felt nothing at all. I couldn’t tell you 1 thing I loved about them or 1 thing I hated about them. Apart from going to the pub with my run club on the way home…but this is far from the point.

This lack of motivation combined with a blue few weeks, my boyfriend and favourite running buddy being out of action, and also a very minor hamstring niggle has led me to the decision to take a couple of weeks away from running. I have joined a gym to help maintain fitness and I will still continue to walk/hike a lot so I get to experience that sense of adventure that I love about running. I am not going to stress about it. I have no major races booked until May 2020 so there is no need to panic just yet. Currently I am not missing running in the slightest.

I have experienced this lack of mojo before and after a week without running the sense of guilt starts to make an appearance but I haven’t felt anything yet which can only be a good sign, right? I am hoping that after another week, with more time on my hands to reflect, I will start to remember what it is that I love about running and will want to get back out there. But if that doesn’t happen I will just give it more time. 4 marathon/marathon plus distances in a year is an amazing achievement but it seems that with great achievement also comes a great big, fat comedown.

Running is my chosen hobby, no one forces me to do it, so if it is no longer feeling fun then maybe a break is just what I need.

2 thoughts on “The Final Comedown

  1. I’m sure you’ll get the bug back after a little break, I don’t run your distances, mainly halfs and sometimes up to 20 miles but I put the work in to always be able to run a decent 5 or 10 km at short notice but recently I had a cold, was working nights and weekends for 2 months without a break and just became worn down and lost all motivation to run. I decided to have a week off,which went to 2 weeks, then 3 and a long weekend break then on the Monday of week 4 made myself run 10k and was pleasantly surprised how I felt, if anything rather than losing fitness I was revitalised in body and mind and am now back to enjoying churning out the miles even in the cold and wet. I,m sure the friend you lost would want you to be out there enjoying the runners high.Good luck 👍

    Like

Leave a comment